Phonics Foundation: Reviews

UPDATE: Phonics Foundation Intake 58 now OPEN for Registration!

Click here for Reviews from Intakes 23 to 45

 

 Intake 57: April 2019

"Dr Alice and Team, thank you for the preparation for the class. It was an insightful course and great learning journey. Thank you."
Melody Wang 

"The training was new in-depth. I am able to understand why somethings are pronounced in a certain way, how to teach children to identify sounds, what simple and complex codes are, how to teach children.
Start with s. a. t. p. i. n. Thank you, Dr Alice!"
Nurhazimah Binte Hamim

"Coming from a Psychology background without the proper training in Education, I found it very useful to teach my students who are having learning difficulties. It also helps me to read and pronounce better. Thank you. Very experienced and qualified trainer."
Grace Teo

"I am more confident with letter sounds, blending and segmenting the sounds."
Nur Haliza Binte Zaini

"This workshop has aided me a lot in my literacy teaching for the class as I am able to conduct the lessons using the techniques taught during this workshop. The children will benefit like how I have benefitted. Thanks! ☺"
Stephanie Seah

"The strategies that were shared is helpful. I immediately used the strategies with my children, and it is helpful for guiding my children in their learning."
Nursyaliza Binte Rohayat

"Thank you for the wonderful learning experience, Dr Tang! I'm so glad that I've signed up for these three days course. I've learnt so much, and it will definitely benefit me as an educator to help children to blend and read using strategies shared in this course."
Joyce Lim

"Very good. In-depth. I have learnt and been corrected so much. Thank you very much."
Teo B L

 

Phonics Foundation Intake 56 Group Photo

Intake 56: March 2019

"The programme is very comprehensive and it has allowed me to only appreciate synthetic phonics as a tool for accelerated reading but had given me practical ways to share this method with preschool children."
Eudora Tan Ee Teng

"Though just 3 sessions, I have gained lots of insights into the phonics system and rules. I feel more confident in guiding my team of teachers in their teaching of phonics to the children after this course."
Ng Saing Fang Alice

"Really useful and having to come to this course, really put me in a position where I can feel confident in teaching phonics/literacy to the children. It equips me with the necessary skills to deliver appropriate strategies to help children in reading and writing. Really an amazing course and trainer."
Julia Binte Amir

"It was overwhelming in the beginning. However, after the third day, I got used to it and was able to understand it better. Thank you. I look forward to applying the skills I have learnt to educate my children."
Nurul Amirah Binte Irman

"Dr Alice Tang engages the class well especially when this can be a boring subject. She is also affirming and encourages each of us to participate without fear. She is also clear in the presentation and it is helpful to many teaching phonics."
Alicia Tang Shuang Ying

"It definitely helps in my phonics understanding/knowledge. It’s so much clearer now although it was info overloaded but I enjoyed it."
Nursuryati Binte Mohamed Jasani

"It’s a very helpful course to aid children in learning to spell and blend. Looking forward to using it in class!"
Tabitha Tan

"Thank you for developing such a comprehensive and relevant phonics programme. I feel more competent after the 3 days workshop, to help the children and the teachers when using this in our school programme."
Skekinah Caroline Ong Choo Neo

 

 

Intake 55

Intake 55: September 2018

“Ms Tang was able to maintain interest even though phonics is such a boring module to teach. She guided each of one of us even though there were so many of us with different doubts.

After attending the workshop, I’m more confident in carrying out phonics sessions with my children and I’m able to see improvements with the right teaching technique I’m equipped with after attending the workshop.”
Poh Jing Shi, Adeline

"Thank you, Dr. Alice for helping me discover the depth and beauty in teaching children literacy. Indeed, you’ve done a great job in making me understand more than I’ve expected in Phonics."
Nurhafizah Ramle

"I have a deeper knowledge and understanding on Phonics now, and I believe the assessment help us to practice and realize our mistakes. Thank you, Dr Alice, you’re the best!"
Siti Aishah

"I really love the course. It definitely gave me so many things to learn which I could apply directly in my literacy class."
Syazwani

"It’s good to learn about the different word letter/ sounds that we think we know but yet to know and learn. Especially for us in the teaching field."
Amalia

“Workshop was wonderful, instructor Alice gave great feedback, explanations and everything is precise and straightforward, easy to understand and environment was also enjoyable to be having the workshop in. Great experience!"
Nur Azdah Adilah Binte Azmay

"A good 3-full day weekend spent. Have gained a good insight on the phonics and the practical exercises by every individual student were great. These have helped me greatly and I am now more confident in the delivering of phonics in my daily teaching. Thank you. I truly enjoyed."
Betty Goh Yew Heok

"Became more confident as I am more aware of the letter sounds and lesson planning. It will definitely aid in my teaching of literacy lessons. Thank you so much!"
Felicia Szetu

"I am more confident now in my phonemes and I strongly believe that I am able to teach the children well after attending this class."
Irwina Lim

"The skills and the practical examples were very useful. The course was presented in a systematic way. The phonics concepts are much clearer now."
Sailaja Kambhampati

"The workshop was well organized in the spread of 3 days with theory and practical lessons which helps me to practice the skills in class. Thank you, Dr Tang for this useful workshop."
Nur Eliyana

"I am thankful that I attended this training. I found out the wrong practices I was doing which make it difficult for the children to learn. It is a more practical way of teaching children how to reach and spell."
Rachelle Joy Alfaro

"I love the course as it gave me in-depth knowledge on phonics. Really thankful for Dr Alice Tang’s patience in guiding all of us."
Adriana

"I enjoyed the 3 days course with Dr Alice Tang! She is able to make me understand better and manage her time well with presenting and answering doubts. Good job Dr Alice!!!"
Siti Rahah

"First formal phonics training and very glad that it ignited the interest in me to teach literacy even more confidently knowing that I am better equipped with the right enunciations, strategies and knowledge! Thank you, Dr Alice I am elated to say, I Survived Phonics Foundation!
Charmaine

Intake 54: April 2018

“It was an eye-opener to another way of teaching phonics using the synthetic way. The course was very hands-on and practical. The synthetic way allows children to be able to blend and spell at a very young age through segmenting.”
Joanna Ho

“As a teacher whose foundation is American English this course helped me a lot to teach my K2 students. It was confusing and difficult but Dr Alice was helpful and patient in helping me with the sounds.”
Nelda Nile Lasala

“The instructor was responsive to our questions and was able to clarify any doubts.”
Masturah 

“Dr Alice was very helpful in coaching me with the correct letter sounds. She tries her best to make lessons fun!”
XuanYin

“The workshop was detailed and clear in setting the objectives for the participants. The teaching strategies included differentiated learning for children. Now I am more familiar with the letter sounds, digraphs and trigraphs!”
Jane Wong

“Learning the different rules of phonics like alternative spelling helps me to be aware of different forms of spelling words.”
Yeo Shufen

“Dr Alice’s workshop has helped me in understanding phonics in greater depth. This will allow me to bring it back to my classroom and teach my children more accurately! The structure of the phonics learning process is well-thought out and every session transits well into the next. Thank you, Dr Alice! Now I believe I’m a much better literacy teacher that can help more children to read & spell!”
Iris Chan

“Dr Alice Tang has continuously encouraged us all in ensuring that the proper techniques have to be mastered only then can we conduct the lesson accordingly. Having little knowledge before going for the training, I needed ample help. I am honestly thankful for this training. Thank you, Dr Alice! I hope I will be able to conduct my literacy lessons confidently as you have!”
Nur Sahidah Binte Suaib

“The workshop was very useful for both my job and personally. It gives me the knowledge of how to say the letter sound properly and how to decode and blend the words. Overall, this training was very useful for me, and I recommended this for all pre-school teachers who have lack of literacy training.”
Mubasarah

 

Intake 53: April 2018

"Dr Alice has inspired me so much to love teaching phonics. Even after our first session, I was already excited to go back to school to teach my children how to read. Thank you so much! You don’t know how much you’ve inspired and helped me. I hope to attend one more of your training again in the future!"
Jennifer Saria

"As an expat teacher, attending Phonics Foundation is really a helpful and beneficial experience for me. This will help me to be more confident in teaching phonics to the children as I have a different accent. Dr Alice Tang is an encouraging speaker. I have learnt a lot from her! Thankful that I am able to attend this workshop."
May M. David

"It provides a good overview of what phonics is all about, it is useful for SMEs and standalone operators to consider in the implementation of a structured programme."
Kimberly Tan Siew Khin

"Two years, worth the wait!
Phonics Foundation has equipped me with rich content that is developmentally appropriate for the children I teach. Dr Alice has lived up to the many good words people say of her workshop.
Thank you, Dr Alice!"
Amal

"I’m glad I decided to join the training and glad that I didn’t have to wait years for it. I am now definitely more confident and knowledgeable to teach my children."
Atiqa Halim

"Dr Tang was very precise and professional. Loads of positive encouragement and motivation, it was brilliant!"
Swee Peng

"Through this 3-day workshop, I have gained a deeper understanding of Phonics Foundation and how to plan lessons to engage children better."
Peh Jia Wen, Jay

"It was a long but fun training thanks to Dr Alice Tang for making small jokes in between. I’ve learnt to teach phonics better and correcting my letter sounds. This training is useful for the helping children spell and read."
Nur Maryanti Binte Mazlan

"Before coming to this course, I lacked confidence in teaching phonics, for fear of teaching children the wrong sounds. After coming for the training, I am equipped with the skills to teach children the sounds, now I can confidently teach children the sounds, guide them and teach them how to blend."
Rebecca Ng

 

Intake 52: January 2018 

“It has been totally worth it to attend. I’ve acquired the knowledge and wish to learn even more than this in future, for the best of the children. Anyway, Dr Alice… You Rock! =P
Mira

“The content of the workshop is comprehensive, lots of hands-on to make me understand deeper. Highly recommended.”
Farahdillah

“This phonics course has really helped me in blending, segmenting and all the sounds that children and teachers are confused has been ‘unlocked’! Thank you, Ms Alice Tang. =)
Luah Yi Jun

"This workshop has greatly impacted me in my learning of phonics. I am glad that I have this opportunity to equip myself with this set of skill and knowledge as I know this will definitely benefit my students and my children. Thank you, Dr Tang, for or your effort in teaching us!"
Chng Mui Hoon

“The lessons/workshops were very straightforward and enjoyable at the same time. Dr Alice’s sense of humour lightened up the mood and made me feel less tense in opening up and participating in the presentations. Thank you for enlightening me on your gift of the golden key! <3
Dil. Nur Dalilah Rohaidi

“It has been a very unforgettable experience to attend this course. I gained confidence in teaching phonics and I think I will be able to give my kids proper practice in reading. Thank you!
Angela Castillo

“This workshop has greatly impacted me in my learning of phonics. I am glad that I have this opportunity to equip myself with this set of skill and knowledge as I know this will definitely benefit my students and my children. Thank you, Dr Tang, for or your effort in teaching us!
Chng Mui Hoon

“Dr Alice, thank you very much! The course was very systematic, procedural and comes with her expansive experience in this field.
Viviekananthan Geetha

“The workshop is very useful. It provided me with practical tips and useful strategies for carrying out the lessons. I will try it on my own kids. Thank you, Dr Alice Tang.
Joanne

“Course is very interesting and informative. Would prefer pace to be a little slower. I have learnt a lot from the course. Thanks!
Chong Lee Shiar

“Teaching was conducive and the trainer is approachable and friendly. The teaching is relevant and useful to what children will learn in class. Will definitely recommend this workshop to my fellow colleagues.
Vanessa Chan

Intake 51

Intake 51: July 2017 

"A very practical approach to phonics. The course is designed to address the term limitations and needs in a classroom."
Jayapal Ramya

"Each session was precise and went into detail to ensure full understanding."
Nazatul Shima 

"Alice Tang is very well prepared for her lessons and always willing to help instead of criticising. She makes learning fruitful. Lastly, her professionalism is admirable. This was a well-prepared workshop. Thank you!"
Priyadharshini

"Eye opening, strategies taught were easy to understand and easy to use in a classroom setting. "
Adlin

"After attending these workshops, I learnt more about how to simplify and make sure that the child understands the instructions clearly/better. And that the sound is very important. It was a very interesting course and very practical (+ useful)."
Lee Poh Yi

"It's a bit rushed at the time maybe extending for another ½ hr will help from overloading especially day 2 with the alternative spelling. It was fruitful 3 days where everything is systematic and sequential. A lot of strategies were taught as well." 
Siti Fatimah 

"It was really overwhelming but at the end of the day, it was all worth it. So glad that I have already equipped myself with the right foundation and able to pass on the knowledge to my student. Thank you, Dr Alice."
Siti Nur Nabilah

Intake 50

Intake 50: April 2017

“Was enlightened with proper sounds of the letters, better than using “products” that teach letters on characters style. It really helped me become equipped to teach phonics at the young age group.” 
Paredes, Lara Jane

“It was an intensive workshop but indeed it was all worth it! I am more confident to face the children and learn the phonics together. Hope to continue this workshop for the future teacher. Thank you! ” 
Irene Virgo

"The workshop was very interesting and Ms Alice delivered the workshop with great clarity!"
Amanda

"The course gave me a new perspective on the concept of reading and spelling and is very helpful to our course of work."
Michelle Ng

"After attending this workshop, it was really much clearer for me to teach my children phonics. At least now I know the correct sounds for the letters & words."
Suriati Binte Samsudin

"At first I was very worried that I could not catch up with the lessons for W1 & W2. But after W3, I am able to grasp well for all the letter sounds & also able to blend well with the help of the dots. I am very thankful to be able to attend this workshop as it is very helpful and I hope I’m able to apply what I learnt to my Nursery children! Thank you!!"
Fazleen

"Recommend for preschool teachers in learning the Phonics Foundation to teach preschoolers in reading and spelling."
Nazurah

"From zero to hero! I learnt a lot from this course. Thank you so much, Dr Alice Tang! You inspire us, new teachers! I definitely see a ‘brighter light’ to teach the children confidently."
Noryhaini Ali

"It was very insightful and an eye-opener. Heard many positive reviews about the workshop and after experiencing it for myself, I do agree how it is very important for us to implement it for the children’s learning. Awesome workshop – wisely recommended attending!"
Farhana

"This workshop was very informative and helpful for teachers like us. Ms Alice gave opportunities and enough materials that will help us enhance our teaching skills (phonics) for the foundation of young children. Thank you so much. God Bless!"
Richelle Andrade

Intake 49: February 2017

“Dr Alice conducted the 3-day course in a very systematic manner. She explained clearly the sounds and the rules. I like the part where each participant had a chance to present the teachings as this exercise helps to make us more confident in carrying out a phonics class. I definitely have a better understanding of what synthetic phonics is now.” 
Josephine Chiang

“The teaching methodology is very structured & clear. Helpful for teachers teaching phonics. I appreciate the precision and clarity of Dr Tang.”
Dawn Lim

“This is my first ever workshop since I joined early childhood industry recently. I am truly grateful for the well-equipped workshop, with many tips and sharing experiences from the instructor. Useful resources too. I am more confident in teaching basic phonics with my playgroup children.”
Nuraini Jumat

“I had a better & clearer understanding about Phonics. Really enjoyed this course with this batch of Intake 49. Thank you!”
Ruth Lin

“The hands-on teaching practice on the last day was beneficial. It boosts up my confidence in teaching phonics to the children. Knowing the proper sounds for the phonemes enable me to blend and spell with much ease.”
Liaw Wan Ling

“Amazing teaching skills and techniques Dr Alice! Thank you!”
Erikka Sunico Clarianes

“I came into the course feeling quite lost as I’m teaching N1, but after the 3rd day, I feel much more confident about teaching my little ones the sounds of the letters and also blending. The instructor was also very entertaining and she made the session very interesting.”
Tan Si Xuan

Intake 48

Intake 48: March 2017

“It was an enriching 3-day course and I have definitely gained a lot of knowledge from Dr Alice Tang. She was very engaging throughout the course and helped us a lot in learning about the phonics rule and letter sounds.”
Chong Sze Min Edwyna

“A 3 days intensive workshop that teaches us the skills/knowledge needed to teach phonics. A lot of practice was provided to facilitate us in our learning. Overall, I have indeed learnt a lot from Ms Alice and would highly recommend her to my friends. Thank you for the encouragement!"
Qi Juan
 

“Great practices to share will teachers to apply the lesson. This should be compulsory for all teachers.”
Raihana Nassir

“I am really grateful for this course. The level of consistency and passion you have for phonics is amazing! Almost touched me. Thank you for not only teaching us the skill but also imparting your heart in doing everything that you have taught/”nagged” at us for. Thank you, Ms Tang!”
Rebekah Huang

“I am able to learn how should I teach the children using appropriate sounds and teaching techniques. Although I am still learning, this course definitely helps to enlighten and develop knowledge of phonics – letter sounds, blending and more. Would love to attend the course again if I can. Thank you for teaching me and the rest. I appreciate it a lot. Thank you.”
Casandra Chen Yi Ting

“The workshop helped me to know the letter sounds more appropriately as well how to blend it. I also got to know the different types of rules and when to apply it. I also learnt how to teach phonics to various age-group. (Nursery to Pri 1)”
Refah

Intake 47

Intake 47: July 2016

“It was a very straightforward course. I liked that we had a lot of practice with the techniques and the different sounds. and has improved the way I conduct literacy now. It makes me more reflective of the way I carry out my lessons with the different groups of learners in the class.” 
Atikah

"This workshop has prepped me with the adequate skills and knowledge to better carry out my literacy lessons at school. It is very practical in our classroom context as well. Will definitely recommend all teachers for this phonics course. Thank you, Alice, for being so clear in your teaching." 
Simone Tan

“One of my enjoyable and fun learning experience, I ever had. I have fallen in love with phonics and am sure my way of teaching will never be the same. I am so blessed to be in this training.”
Mala Ramasamy

“Despite the potentially “dry” nature of the course content, Alice more than managed to reignite my interest in this area, Thanks a lot.”
Alex Chin C.N 

Intake 46

Intake 46: June 2016

“It’s never a boring moment, Dr Alice Tang has made the workshop very lively and interesting. I’ve definitely gain much from this and will apply all techniques taught in my class.”
Sharona Kwek

“I have a clear understanding on how to sound all the letter(s) and it really helps my son in his language development. Yesterday, when I picked him up from school, he showed me his drawing with a word “Sentosa” on it. He said he drew Sentosa and wrote it himself. Obviously, he sounded the letter to figure out how to spell it. I was so proud of him and thanks to Dr Alice who gave me a deeper insight in Phonics. THANK YOU!”
Inggawati

“Dr Alice is a very jovial, spontaneous and responsible trainer. She has been maintaining a very good interest among us during the classes. These lessons had built the foundation for my knowledge of phonics that I believe will enable me to share with my children in the near future. Thank you so much, Dr Alice!”
Jane Tan

“After attending this workshop, I am able to apply to my class. I was also able to spot the mistakes I had made and taught to my children prior to this course.”
Annie

“Very helpful and concrete examples were given to address the issues that I experienced in the classroom. Surely will use the techniques learned.”
Lesly Ann Chiu

“Besides learning the strategies in blending & segmenting, the “lesson planning” section has been indeed very useful for me. I have learnt how to prepare a lesson plan in a very structured manner. Also, the section on “alternative spelling” has strengthened further my initial limited knowledge in this.”
Yvonne Lum

Click here for Testimonies from Intakes 23 to 45

Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out